Archives, records - nearby

Warden Street, Old Warden: Whitbread Estate cottage 1775
photo: Elisabeth Field


  • Buckinghamshire Archives (opens in new window) is at Aylesbury, and also covers areas formerly in the County but now in Berkshire and Milton Keynes. Some online resources.


Complicated by county boundary alterations – contact one of these for advice:

  • Cambridgeshire Archives (opens in a new window) are in Ely, for the former counties of Cambridgeshire and the Isle of Ely and at Huntingdon Library for the former county of Huntingdonshire.
  • Peterborough Archives (opens in new window) are in Peterborough; the City was formerly in Northamptonshire, but is now in Cambridgeshire.



  • Lincolnshire Archives  (opens in new window) are important for some Bedfordshire research because the county was in the Diocese of Lincoln until 1837. Online catalogue of records held across Lincolnshire.







This page was added on 28/04/2015.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.